CMP Welcomes Two New Board Members: John Carson and Dan Durben

With the retirement of three long-time Board members, the Civilian Marksmanship Program (CMP) is excited to announce two new members joining in 2022.

John Carson:

John Carson will serve as the Chair of the Compensation Committee. He is the former President and Vice Chairman of Raymond James Financial, having left the position in 2022. He was also on the firm’s Executive Committee and was head of the Fixed Income, Public Finance, Corporate Development and Strategic Accounts divisions. Before Raymond James, he was the CEO of Morgan Keegan & Company – an organization he joined in 1994. His career began at Chase Manhattan Bank in New York and in Caracas, Venezuela, where his focus was correspondent banking and currency arbitrage.

Carson holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Dartmouth College, with a double major in International Economics and History, and an MBA from Harvard Business School. In his private life, Carson is married with four sons.

Dan Durben:

Dan Durben will serve as the Chair of the CMP Scholarship Committee. Durben has first-hand experience in smallbore rifle, air rifle, highpower and biathlon through a career spanning more than 40 years. As a coach with USA Shooting, he led teams to the 2000 Sydney and the 2021 Tokyo Olympic Games and the 2004 Athens and 2008 Beijing Paralympic Games, with his athletes winning two Gold and two Silver medals overall. Durben’s own accolades as an athlete include National Champion (smallbore and air rifle), World Champion (air rifle) and Olympian (smallbore) – representing the USA in the 1988 Seoul Olympic Games.

He retired as a USA Shooting coach in 2021. He also recently completed his career as a Physics Professor at Black Hills State University with over 50 research publications and conference presentations. Additionally, he was the school’s Faculty Athletics Representative for over a decade. Dan is most well-known to the CMP community as the Director of the CMP 3-Position Air Rifle Summer Camp program for 15 years and played a critical role in the development of a generation of junior rifle shooters across the country.

The CMP Board:

In addition to these new members, returning CMP Board members include: Jerry O’Keefe (Chairman), Carmen Allegra (Vice Chairman), Gary Cheek (Treasurer), Launi Meili (Secretary), Will Dantzler, Ed Newell, and Regina Chavis. Learn more about all the CMP Board members at

The Civilian Marksmanship Program is a federally chartered 501 (c) (3) non-profit corporation. It is dedicated to firearm safety and marksmanship training and to the promotion of marksmanship competition for citizens of the United States. For more information about the CMP and its programs, log onto

The post CMP Welcomes Two New Board Members: John Carson and Dan Durben appeared first on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *